Welcome to the Davie County online marriage license application website! By using this online
application process, you will expedite your time at the Register of Deeds Office. Please review the
instructions below carefully before beginning your application process.
Please complete your application in its entirety ensuring that all information is accurate and true.
There are certain fields that are required in order to submit your application through this system.
When you complete the application, you will be notified if any required fields are not fully completed.
If you submit an application and then later discover you made an error, DO NOT submit another
application. Instead, please bring any corrections to the attention of the Register’s staff when you
arrive in person to complete the application process.
Please note you must come to the Davie County Register of Deeds Office located in the Davie
County Administration Building at 123 South Main Street in Mocksville, North Carolina within 15
days of completing this online submission form. After that time, the Register of Deeds Office will no
longer store your submission and you will be required to re-input all your data. It is strongly
recommended that you call our office ahead of time at (336)753-6080 in order to schedule an
appointment to come into the office for the completion of your marriage license. No marriage
licenses will be granted after 4:30 p.m. each day.
Important Information and What to Bring?
Each marriage license applicant must bring the following:
Two (2) acceptable forms of identification each (one must be a legible, government issued photo ID such as a driver’s license, State issued ID card, U.S. passport, or Military ID) and the other may be a social security card or certified birth certificate). Per N.C.G.S. §15-311, matricular consular cards are not accepted;
If either applicant has been divorced for less than six (6) months immediately preceding the date of the application, he or she will also need to bring a copy of his or her previous divorce judgment showing the final date of divorce;
If either applicant is a widow or widower, the date of death of the deceased spouse will be required;
The name and telephone number of the officiant, magistrate’s office, or person performing the ceremony in the event we need to contact them to retrieve the fully executed marriage license after the ceremony (if known); and
$60.00 (cash or card).
Requirements to marry under North Carolina General Statutes:
Any person at least 18 years old, unless otherwise incapacitated, may lawfully marry in the State of North Carolina.
If either party to the proposed marriage is between 16-18 years old, a marriage license may only be issued if the couple's age difference is no more than four years. Additionally, the applicant between 16-18 must file either a certified copy of a North Carolina district court order authorizing the marriage OR written consent to the marriage signed by (a) a parent having full or joint legal custody of the underage applicant; or (b) a person, agency, or institution having legal custody or serving as guardian of the underage marriage applicant.
A marriage license may also be issued to any person between the ages of 16-18 whom the court has emancipated from parental authority. Please note a certified copy of the emancipation decree or certificate of emancipation must be filed with our office before the license can be issued.
Finally, after reviewing your application for accuracy, checking your identification, and collecting the
required fee, a staff member will administer an oath to each applicant prior to obtaining signatures on
the actual marriage license. After signatures are obtained, the marriage license will be yours to take
for completion on the big day!
Please note that pursuant to the North Carolina General Statutes, once a marriage license has been
issued by the Register of Deeds, it is only valid for sixty (60) days. If the marriage does not occur for
any reason within sixty (60) days of issuance of the license, a new license application must be
submitted and additional fees must be paid. Additionally, a North Carolina marriage license is valid
only for marriages taking place anywhere inside the State of North Carolina, but they must be
returned to the county of issuance.
If you are ready to apply now, please click on the "Proceed to the Application" link below.
Congratulations on behalf of the Davie County Register of Deeds Office!